Canaries of the Sea

With their prominently large melon and bright white color, the beluga whale is the easiest whale species to recognize and probably the most familiar. Also called white whales, belugas are actually born gray or brownish in color, fading to white by the time they are 5 years old. They are nicknamed “sea canaries” due to their distinct, and unique vocalization of loud squawks, whistles, squeals, and clucking, filling the sea with beautiful music.

Diamond Center
Instructor Training Center
Instructor Training Center

{{ item.stateLong }}, {{item.countryLong}}
Show affiliated dive sites
Affiliated dive site {{additionalItem.title}} {{additionalItem.distance}} km

{{item.stats.loggedDives}} Logged Dives
Show affiliated dive centers
Affiliated divecenter {{additionalItem.title}} {{additionalItem.distance}} km
No results/current events found. Please try another search term.

Discover more Underwater Wildlife

  Explore more underwater wildlife