Diving the Ionian Islands

Just off the western coast of Greece in the Ionian Sea, you will find the Ionian Islands. This archipelago, or chain of islands, includes seven main islands as well as a number of smaller islands. They are actually referred to in Greece as the “Heptanese” which literally translates to “seven islands”. These seven main islands are Lefkada or Lefkas, Meganisi, Kefalonia, Ithaca, Kastos, Atokos, and Zakynthos or Zante. The diving here is beautiful and the islands are also known for their stunning beaches, clear waters, and picturesque scenery. Each one is quite unique in its own regard and offers its own special experience. The Ionian Sea waters have plenty of marine life, caves reefs, large rocks, and more. The water here is both very deep and very clear. Visibility can be over 30 meters (98 feet) and the seafloor can be as deep as 4,000 meters (13,000 feet). The underwater world features everything from large rocks and caves to beautiful Mediterranean reefs, not to mention the mainly World War Two wrecks, such as the amazing HMS Regulus off the coast of Corfu and the submarine HMS Perseus off the coats of Kefalonia which is now a vibrant artificial reef. Try some of the smaller island for an authentic Greek welcome, too.

Dive Sites in Ionian Islands

Featured places to go in Ionian Islands


The island of Zakynthos is hands down the top diving spot in the Ionian Islands region with emerald-green seas, magnificent limestone reefs and caves.

Learn more

Scuba diving in Corfu offers a unique, remote experience in the crystal-clear waters of the Mediterranean.

Learn more

Aquatic Life in Ionian Islands

One of the best places to see the marine life that the Ionian Islands are famous for is by taking a quick boat ride out to Marathonissi, which is also known as “Turtle Island. Here, you will be able to dive with the giant Loggerhead sea turtles Zakynthos and the Ionian Islands are famous for. These huge creatures usually measure around 90 cm (35 in) in shell length and weigh in on average at around 135 kg (298 lbs). They can grow to even bigger sizes than that though. The largest Loggerhead turtle on record weighed an unbelievable 450 kg (1,000 lbs)!