Diving the Canary Islands

The Canary Islands are a Spanish archipelago located in the Atlantic Ocean, about 100km (62 miles) west of the Moroccan coast.

The Canaries, as they are known informally, consist of Lanzarote, the fourth largest of the Islands, is known for its volcanic landscape, its distinct black sand, and clear warm waters, which are perfect for divers to explore with fascinating scenery underwater.

Then there is Fuerteventura, the second largest of the islands, famous for its white sandy beaches and year-round wind, which is reflected in its name, meaning “strong wind” in Spanish.

Gran Canaria, the third largest of the islands, is known for its black lava and white sand beaches.
Tenerife, the largest of the islands, has its landscape dominated by Mt. Teide, a dormant volcano that is Spain’s tallest point.

La Gomera, the second-smallest of the islands, is marked by craggy volcanic mountains, and is as much a walker’s paradise, as it is a diver’s one.

La Palma, known as the “green island”, is famed for its subtropical volcanic dive sites and warm crystal clear waters.

El Hierro is the smallest of the Islands but possesses a large number of exceptional diving sites and is home to varied and rich biodiversity.

Featured places to go in Canary Islands

Dive Sites in Canary Islands

Discover the wonders of the deep with SSI's blog

Join us on an exciting journey of discovery and learn more about exhilarating diving adventures, dedicated conservation initiatives, and innovative educational opportunities that will help you illuminate the extraordinary beauty of the underwater world. Let's explore the underwater world together and delve into the hidden wonders beneath the gentle waves.