Diving in Andalusia

Andalucia, an autonomous community in southern Spain, is the most populous and the second largest community in the country. The beautiful and culturally rich region, officially recognized as a “historical nationality”, is divided into eight provinces: Almería, Cádiz, Córdoba, Granada, Huelva, Jaén, Málaga and Seville, its capital. Located in the south of the Iberian Peninsula, and facing northern Africa and the Strait of Gibraltar, it is the only European region bordering the Mediterranean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean. It is renowned for its diving sites. In fact, it is becoming more and more popular with divers on account of its year round clear warm waters, as well as the beauty and tranquility of its seabed. To the east, the coastline is more rugged, while to the west gentle sandy slopes are ideal for beginners, there are also reefs to explore and plenty of wrecks housing colorful marine life. There are many excellent locations to go diving and discover the fascinating underwater marine life Andalucia has to offer. Sites along the Andalucian coast including Estepona, Nerja, Tarifa, Almuñécar, and Cabo de Gata, are worth exploring and you’ll be dazzled by the variety from gullies and sea walls to deep dive sites and exciting swimthroughs to the shallow reefs teeming with fish, soft coral and vegetation.

Dive Sites in Andalusia

Featured places to go in Andalusia

Cabo de Gata

The natural geopark Cabo de Gata Nijar is uniquely where one can find a brilliant contrast between terrestrial and marine.

Learn more

Aquatic Life in Andalusia

As varied as Andalucia is above water, it is more than matched underwater. The seabed is made up of extensive meadows and sea grasses in some places, with rock walls, pinnacles and dramatic swim-throughs near the Strait of Gibraltar, not to mention plenty of wrecks. There are hundreds of species of fish to spot and dolphins and pilot whales aren’t unheard of either. Expect to see grouper and sunfish, seahorses, triggerfish and squid, along with huge lobster and spider crabs too. It’s a joy to explore the extensive underwater forests, gardens and dramatic geology on these dives.