Diving in French Polynesia

Over 100 lush, emerald islands that speckle 200 million square miles of clear turquoise seas in the center of the South Pacific make up French Polynesia. This unique country has 5 main archipelagoes: The Society Islands, Tuamotu Archipelago, Gambier Islands, Marquesas Islands, and Tubuai Islands. Its capital Papeete, is located on Tahiti, which is part of The Society Islands, and it’s well known for its spectacular marine life.

Famous for its romantic appeal and rich Polynesian culture, French Polynesia is also considered one of the best diving destinations in the world. This country showcases every imaginable shade of blue within its waters. Thinking of French Polynesia may conjure up images of stunning blue lagoons, sun-kissed Polynesian natives, fire-dancers, and over-the-water bungalows, but the underwater world is just as spectacular. The top 6 islands for diving are Tahiti, Moorea, Bora Bora, Fakarava, Mahini, and Rangiroa. Liveaboard diving is the best option to explore the area and enjoy the warm water, crystal clear reefs, thousands of fish, exciting shark dives, huge manta rays, and fun drift dives.

Featured Training Centers

This data is provided from the logbook information in the MySSI app

Dive Sites in French Polynesia

Facts about French Polynesia

Discover the wonders of the deep with SSI's blog

Join us on an exciting journey of discovery and learn more about exhilarating diving adventures, dedicated conservation initiatives, and innovative educational opportunities that will help you illuminate the extraordinary beauty of the underwater world. Let's explore the underwater world together and delve into the hidden wonders beneath the gentle waves.